The Intouchables

It is probably most fitting to start this post just like the opening scene of the movie itself- with the ending.  And with this mindset, allow me to evoke the words I happened to overhear behind me as we were leaving the cinema: “I cannot remember when I last saw a movie this good”.

And she was right – whilst the trailer was enough for me to go and see the whole thing, I was a bit jittery about embarking on a 2 hour-long journey of French dialogue. My mind was blown and the pain in my sides  was a pleasant reminder of how much I laughed throughout most of the scenes unfolding on the white canvas.

It is without a doubt one of the best written and acted French movies I have seen (yes, better than Amelie, Jeux d’enfants, and anything from the Besson collection). And YES one of the best comedies as it sent me home in stitches from laughing that hard. I won’t spoil it for you with the synopsis, but let me just remark that the candidness of the onscreen duo (Francois Cluzet & Omar Sy) , the soundtrack (Ludovico Einaudi) and the smart dialogues will definitely ensure this one stays close to your heart for quite a while.

Leave a Reply

